Not Alone: The Hess Family

February 7, 2015

Not Alone

 

Jaxon

My husband and I adopted Jared and Jaxon when they were infants.  They are just 2 days apart in age.  When Jared was 3 years old, we started noticing that he had some developmental delays.  When he turned 4 years old, he was diagnosed with Autism Spectrum Disorder and also Jaxon was diagnosed with ADHD.

Jared

As Jared was getting older and bigger it became too difficult to put him with “typical” children at church and therefore I started keeping him at home on Sundays and living with a lot of guilt! I grew up going to Church 3 times a week and now I have a child that I cannot take to church because he does not fit in.

I would watch Pastor Uth (First Baptist Orlando) on  Sundays and Jim would take Jaxon to a local church.  I knew that First Baptist Orlando was where I wanted to be but did not know if they had a special ministry for Jared.  One day I decided to inquire and I learned that they did indeed have a ministry for children with special needs.  It’s called the Special Friends Ministry under the direction of Mike Woods.

We visited and loved it from day one.  Now, both Jared and Jaxon love to go to church and I can finally sit with my husband in a “church service” and feel at total ease because my children are learning about Jesus from caring volunteers in the Special Friends ministry.

We finally found our church home!

Becky Hess

, , , ,

About Michael Woods

Christ-follower, husband, chocoholic, and peanut-butter lover! I'm a father to triplet boys...each on the autism spectrum.

View all posts by Michael Woods

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

