Not Alone: Ana and Aden

April 4, 2014

Not Alone

What’s Our Story?
Aden was diagnosed with Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) at the age of 3yrs. When I was given this diagnosis I was devastated as parent, because to hear that your child is a little different can really shake a parents world. I begin to find out what are the steps that I would have to take in order to seek help for my son. Since then Aden spends long hours in behavioral, Speech, and Occupational therapy in order to help him function. Aden can verbalize a few words but he has surely come a long way from the day he was diagnosed. I thank God every day for an outstanding church community, family and friends who support Aden and myself.
Family Member Names & Ages
Ana 30
Aden 8
How We Found First Baptist Orlando?
I first learned about First Baptist Orlando when I attended a Nathaniels Hope “Make Em Smile” walk in downtown Orlando. This was the first time a was introduced to Buddy Break and how the entire service worked and where it was held. From that point on I contacted First Baptist Orlando and inquired about their Buddy Break and what it entails, I was introduced to many parents who were going through the same situation that I was facing. I was also greeted by warm open arms from the members of First Baptist Orlando, and I was informed that I was not alone in this situation and that I had a support system in First Baptist Orlando. That feeling made me realize that God has really not given up on me and my family.
What We Like About First Baptist Orlando
What I truly love about First Baptist Orlando is the warm welcome that I received from the moment I began to attend the church services. I also love that  my son can attend church as well and know that God loves him. Being able to attend church before was out of the question especially when you have a child with Autism, but First Baptist Orlando and their Special Friends ministry makes it truly possible. This is the first church that I have attend in a long time where I truly feel like people actually care about you, and that is a feeling that I will never forget.
How Has Being Able to Participate in Worship/Life Groups Changed My Life?
Being able to participate in worship has been very life changing, it has allowed me to really see what the love of  God truly is. It also has allowed me to understand who God is and how He is always by my side no matter what. Being able to attend worship has also allowed me to see that having Christ in my life is the best feeling a person could ever have.
Favorite Bible Verse
I will lift up mine eyes unto the hills, from whence cometh my help. Psalm 121:1
, ,

About Michael Woods

Christ-follower, husband, chocoholic, and peanut-butter lover! I'm a father to triplet boys...each on the autism spectrum.

View all posts by Michael Woods

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

