Faith Is Like A Cold

March 9, 2012

Faith At Home, Interact, Time

One minute you’re feeling fine and the next your head is stuffy, your nose is  drippy, your eyes are watering and all you want to do is go to bed. You’ve  caught a cold!  The  rhinoviruses (“rhino” is from the Greek, meaning “nose”) that most often cause  colds are so numerous and widespread that most adults will catch at least two  colds each year and children at least eight to 10. It’s the world’s most “common”  illness.

Person-to-person contact is the most likely way to catch or spread a cold. A  Perhaps you shook hands with a sick person, or your child or spouse is sick and has given you a hug.  Maybe you only came in contact with a contaminated surface, a doorknob or  countertop that they’ve touched.  Rubbing your eyes or nose afterward is all it takes to give the cold  virus a safe place to reproduce.   Well guess what:

Faith is like catching a cold!

I have always believed that the Christian faith is more caught than taught.  1 Corinthians 11:1 says, “Imitate me as I imitate Christ.”

This Scripture has been ROCKING my parent world lately and it has caused me to seriously re-think how much I’m structuring a faith-friendly environment in my home!  The main point I want to make in this post is this:
The Christian faith is CAUGHT, not TAUGHT.
The Christian faith is like a cold… if you are around people who have it, you just might catch it!  Jesus didn’t show his disciples a Power-Point presentation on how to care for the poor or how to love sinners… He did it and they watched!  Yes, he did influence them with His words, but He influenced them mainly with His actions.  They wanted to be like Him and they wanted what He had… He showed us who God was with His actions. His WALK backed up His TALK!
As a parent, I should strive to do a better job at this with my kids!
Whether I live like it or not, I am the primary role model in the lives of my children during their most formative years.  Understanding this truth is critical to me as I model how to live in this world for my boys with autism.  Perhaps this is why Paul said, “Be imitators of God, therefore, as dearly loved children” (Eph.5:1).  He knew the nature of children to imitate who they see!  And who do my children see the most?   Me!
I like what Polly Berrien Berends reminds us of in her book Gently Lead:
  • “The best things your children will learn about God will be from watching you try to find out for yourself.  Jesus said, ‘Seek and you will find.’  They will not always do what you tell them to do, but they will be–good and bad–as they see you being.  If your children see you seeking, they will seek–the finding is up to God.”

As parents, we are living, breathing examples of the Christian faith.  Modeling Christ, to the best of our imperfect abilities, gives us the opportunity to show what seeking a genuine relationship with our Heavenly Father looks like and opens the door for the Holy Spirit to start to do His work in them!  I like what Reggie Joiner and Casey Nieuwhof remind their readers:

“No matter what your family looks like or how limited your capacity might be, you can cooperate with whatever God desires to do in your heart so your children will have a front-row seat to the grace and goodness of God” (Parenting Beyond Your Capacity, pg. 47).

As I’ve mentioned before, I don’t have all of this faith at home stuff figured out.  I’m reading, praying, and learning as I go.  As a parent to children with special needs I know that it’s not always easy to find time to do everything you know you need to do.  But as I read the Scriptures I don’t find any “free pass” just because I parent a child with special needs.

If you’d like to join me on this journey in helping our kids “catch” our faith that would be great!  It’s always nice to have friends who are willing to walk alongside you.  You can receive notifications of upcoming posts by either subscribing to this blog or clicking “like” on the Special Friends Ministry facebook page!  Michael Woods

, , , , , , , ,

About Michael Woods

Christ-follower, husband, chocoholic, and peanut-butter lover! I'm a father to triplet boys...each on the autism spectrum.

View all posts by Michael Woods

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Faith Is Like A Cold”

  1. Sharon Says:

    Michael, as a fellow parent of a child with special needs (that also has cleft), I, too, struggle with nurturing my son’s faith. It is so hard sometimes but as you say there is no “get out of jail free” card. Yet sometimes in his abilities, he shows me the true meaning of what faith is all about.

    I would be more than happy to walk on this journey with you, if we can walk together. Along with much needed coffee!!

    Your friend, Sharon

    Reply

    • SpecialNeedsMinistry Says:

      Awesome Sharon! I’m with you on how hard it can be sometimes…maybe more than I’d like to admit. I’m finishing up “The 2-Degree Difference” and it’s given me a great perspective on how powerful just small changes can be. Perhaps that’s a good starting point…small.

      Reply

  2. curiousjogeorge Says:

    I love what I’ve read so far. I shared your video on Crisis Intervention with several of my co-workers. I have taken several classes on the subject but I love how you tie it all together in an easy to understand format. I have a special needs adult son (19 yrs). I’m also a special education teacher. I know how busy life can be so thank you for taking the time out of your day to share with us.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

