Special Needs Ministry: Is It Worth The Extra 5%?

May 11, 2011

Building Relationships

Most of my friends on my Facebook page are parents of a child with autism or other special need…just like my boys.

Last week I mentioned that I was curious about how many of these families were churched.  So I used Survey Monkey to design a 3 question survey and then posted it to my Facebook page.  I was surprised to find out that 20% of these families attend a church that does NOT have a special needs ministry.

It became apparent to me that their communities of faith have found a way to be welcoming and inclusive.  How?  By using a model emphasizing the different ministries within the church that work together for the purpose of welcoming and including a child without having to develop a special needs program!

The question now becomes “How many more families of children with special needs might be reached for Christ by developing a special needs program?” 

So, I surveyed my Facebook parents and asked this question:  “Do you currently attend a church has a special needs program?”

136 parents responded to this survey question.  25% of them answered “Yes.”

That’s 5% more families who attend a church with a special needs program than those families who attend a church that does not have a special needs program.  5%…doesn’t seem like a big difference, does it?

Is it worth going to thru the effort of developing a special needs ministry to reach an extra 5%?  When I think of “biblical math,” I believe the answer is yes:  “Or suppose a woman has ten silver coins and loses one.  Does she not light a lamp, sweep the house and search carefully until she finds it?  And when she finds it, she calls her friends and neighbors together and says, ‘Rejoice with me; I have found my lost coin.” (Luke 15:8-9).

Michael Woods is married to the love-of-his-life and a father of three wonderful boys, each one on the autism spectrum.

, , , ,

About MakingRoomASD

Father to 3 boys on the autism spectrum.

View all posts by MakingRoomASD

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

